KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Friday, 13 February 2009.

PRESENT: Mr D L Brazier (Chairman), Ms S J Carey, Mr W V Newman, DL, Mr R Tolputt and Mr M J Vye

OFFICERS: Mr R Dale (School Governance Officer), Ms T Gimber (School Governance Officer) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

1. Minutes

(Item A3)

- (1) The Head of Democratic Services and Local Leadership informed the Panel that the proposed guideline set out in Minute 12 had been agreed in slightly amended form by Selection and Member Services Committee. Accordingly, the new guideline (h) now read:-
- "A parent eligible for election as a parent governor should not normally be considered for appointment to the governing body of any school attended by one of their own children."
- (2) RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 5 December 2008 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

2. LEA Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent (Item B1)

- (1) The Panel agreed to appoint Mrs R Rogers to St Joseph's Catholic Primary School, Northfleet subject to no other forms of Governorship being available at that School.
- (2) The Panel endorsed the decision taken by the Head of School Governance in consultation with the Chairman to appoint Mr P Hare to the Governing Body of Nonnington CE Primary School.
- (3) The Panel agreed the reappointments of Mr A Hollands (Wincheap Foundation Primary School), Mrs W Hinder (St John's CEP School) and Mr N Bensted-Smith (St Matthew's High Brooms CEP School) subject to confirmation of two-thirds attendance being received.
- (4) RESOLVED that the appointments of Local Authority Governors in Primary, Secondary and Special Schools be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.



APPENDIX (Paragraph 2 of the Minutes refers)

1. **CLUSTER: AS1 ASHFORD**

DCSF No: School **Appointee** 2574 **Downs View Infant School** Mrs F Moore

2574 Downs View Infant School Major John Kemp MBE

Willesborough Junior School Mrs J Charles 5226

2. **CLUSTER: ASHFORD RURAL**

DCSF No: School **Appointee**

Mr D Beereensson **Great Chart Primary School** 2282 2287 Rolvenden Primary School Dr B Del Tufo 3143 St Michael's CEP School Mr M Roberts

CLUSTER: CANTERBURY CITY AND COUNTRY 3.

DCSF No: School **Appointee**

Mr A Hollands (subject to 5221 Wincheap Foundation Primary School

attendance of two-thirds or

more.)

CLUSTER: CANTERBURY COASTAL

DCSF No: School **Appointee**

4091 The Community College, Whitstable Mr A Pomeroy 2264 Hampton Primary School Mr D Hirst

CLUSTER: CRANBROOK AND PADDOCK WOOD 5.

DCSF No: School **Appointee**

CLUSTER: DARTFORD EAST

DCSF No: School **Appointee**

CLUSTER: DARTFORD WEST 7.

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2679	The Brent Primary School	Mr P Harper
4026	Dartford Technology College	Mr P Shaw
2470	Fleetdown Infant School	Mrs R Sothi
2685	The Gateway Community Primary School	Miss L Richards
2066	Maypole School	Mr R Garrett
2657	Temple Hill Community Primary & Nursery	
	School	Mrs J Narayanan

2075 York Road Junior School and Language Unit Mr D Baker

8. CLUSTER: DEAL AND SANDWICH

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
3171	Nonington CEP School	Mr P Hare
2322	Preston Primary School	Mr B Doggett
2659	Sandown School	Mrs E Inch
2627	Sandwich Junior School	Mr T Heselden
3719	St Joseph's Catholic Primary, Aylesham	R S Manion

9. CLUSTER: DOVER

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2454	Aycliffe Community Primary School	Mr R Basford
4109	Dover Grammar School for Girls	Rev. J Philpott
7045	Harbour School	Mr K Benn

10. CLUSTER: GRAVESHAM

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2110	Culverstone Green Primary School	Mrs A Jones
2525	Painters Ash Primary School	Mr A Russell
3903	Raynehurst Primary School	Mrs J Craig
5222	St Joseph's Catholic Primary, Northfleet	Mrs R Rogers (subject to no alternative Governorship being available at the School)
5407	Thamesview School	Mrs D Braddon
3900	Whitehill Primary School	Mr P Steen

11. CLUSTER: MC2 (MAIDSTONE)

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2165	Headcorn Primary School	Mrs L Selby
2168	Lenham Primary School	Mr D Smith
2169	Platts Heath Primary School	Dr S Coates-Smith
3372	St John's CEP School	Mrs W Hinder (subject to attendance of two-thirds or more.)
3083	Ulcombe CEP School	Mrs J ['] Braggs

12. CLUSTER: MAIDSTONE 1

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
7032	Bower Grove School	Mr S Golding
2193	Sutton Valence Primary School	Mrs P Stockell
2653	West Borough Primary School	Mrs L Rich

13. CLUSTER: MALLING

DCSF No: School Appointee

14. CLUSTER: SEVENOAKS SOUTH

DCSF No: School Appointee

2636 Edenbridge Primary School Mrs R Calvocoressi

15. CLUSTER: SHEPWAY 1

DCSF No: School Appointee

3349 St Mary's CEP School, Folkestone Mrs S Wallace

16. CLUSTER: RURAL SHEPWAY

DCSF No: School Appointee

2645 Lydd Primary School Mr W Richardson 2645 Lydd Primary School Mrs B Saltmarsh

17. CLUSTER: RURAL SWALE

DCSF No: School Appointee

2516 Lansdowne Primary School Mrs L Smith 3108 Ospringe CEP School Dr A Norley

18. CLUSTER: URBAN SWALE

DCSF No: School Appointee

2595 Grove Park Community School Miss N Boyce

19. CLUSTER: SWANLEY AND DISTRICT

DCSF No: School Appointee

7034 Furness School Mrs D Morris

20. CLUSTER: THANET 1

DCSF No: School Appointee

4633 Ursuline College Mrs R Kulasinghe

2345 Priory Infant School Mrs B Cook 3890 St Joseph's Catholic Primary, Broadstairs Mr A McGee

21. CLUSTER: THANET 2

DCSF No: School Appointee

22. CLUSTER: TONBRIDGE

DCSF No: School Appointee

2132 Hadlow School Mr S Bingham
2667 St Stephen's Primary School Mrs N Cadell
2539 Stocks Green Primary School Mrs S Blackmore

23. **CLUSTER: TUNBRIDGE WELLS**

DCSF No: School

Claremont Primary School 2465

St Matthew's High Brooms CEP School 3294

Appointee Mrs J Daniel

Mr N Bensted-Smith (subject to attendance of two-thirds or

more.)

POOL OF ADDITIONAL GOVERNORS

Mr G Saltmarsh Mr R Pickup Dr A Ellis

09/c&g/gap/021309minutes appendix